Being A First Night Blogger

The First Night scheme is run by  PWC and it gives people aged between 16 and 25 a chance to go see shows on at the Hippodrome for as little as £5. A First Night Blogger is sent out to some of these show and then asked to write their reflections online for others to see. The aim, to encourage more young people to go to the theatre more.

I never thought that I would get the chance to be a First Night Blogger. As usual for me, I found the article about the scheme just a day before the deadline and had to fill out the application form in the early hours of the morning after finishing work. I sent it off with my fingers crossed but I didn’t hold my breath. How was I meant to compete with all those people who had plenty of time to compose the perfect application. I was convinced that there would be so many applying because the opportunity was so amazing that I wouldn’t make it. So Imagine my surprise when an email came through asking me attended an interview. I don’t think shocked even covered it. This was something that I had really wanted to be part of, a dream job, and I was a little bit closer to getting it. Of course you know that I went on to be selected, along with Amy and I was so excited. I couldn’t wait to get started. The Hippodrome has such an amazing variety of shows and now was my chance to not only see some of them but hopefully inspire others to as well.

6 months in and my excitement has not wavered, in fact it has probably only got bigger as the list of amazing things to see only gets more and more. I’ve had the chance to see some great shows, things that I would not necessarily have booked to go and see myself.

I have had the chance to experience contemporary dance, art installations, live performance tweeting and huge sell out shows like Top Hat, Shrek the Musical and Dirty Dancing.

There have also been amazing opportunities that I wouldn’t have been able to do if I wasn’t part of First Night. We have been behind the scenes at Shrek the Musical, learnt some of the dances of Dirty Dancing and met many cast members, choreographers and even a director. While I haven’t been able to make all of these I know that my colleague Amy will confirm that they have been great experience.
Being a First Night Blogger means I have seen some great things and met some exceptionally talented people. I have taken to Twitter and WordPress and developed my writing skills, something I hope will only improve further as I write more and more. Being able to see a range of shows has developed not only my knowledge of the worlds of the arts but helped me discover new loves, the DanceXchange being one in particular.

Image 1 IMG_0134 IMG_0167 IMG_0002

With the first six months flying by, I know that the next six will be over before I know it. A thought that makes me very sad. However in the mean time I can’t wait to a carry on being part the First Night Scheme. With great shows like The Curious Incident of the Dog In The Night, The Spadling Suit at the DanceXchange and Peter Pan by Wno there is so much to look forward to.

The First night Scheme opens up the world of theatre for young people at the fraction of the normal cost and I am proud to be part of that.

I came into the First Night Blogger’s Scheme just after graduating with no idea where I want to go. Now thanks to this I am emerged in a world that I love and I hope to be part of for a long time to come.
Find out more about the First Night Scheme.
See what’s on at The Hippodrome and The DanceXchange
Check out my fellow first nighter’s blog by Amy Stutz: sincerelyamy.com


Leave a comment